Membership of the Covent Garden Area Trust

The Trust invites applications for membership from those who live, work or are interested in the Covent Garden Area. The Trust is governed by a Council of not less than 12, but not more than 22, Trustees.

Would you like to become a member of the Covent Garden Area Trust?

The Trust invites applications for ordinary membership from people who live or work in Covent Garden or from those (Londoners or otherwise) who have an interest in the Covent Garden area, the Piazza in particular.

To find out more about becoming a member, get in touch with us at:

Covent Garden Area Trust
7 Dials Club
42 Earlham Street
London, WC2H 9LA

Tel: 020 7497 9245

Applications for membership are submitted to the Trust Council for approval and will be dealt with in the order in which they are received. 

  • Membership for Covent Garden residents is £3 per year or £30 for a life membership
  • Non-resident members pay £5 a year or £50 for life membership
  • Corporate membership is £30 per year
  • For resident senior citizens, membership is free

All members are invited to the Trust’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) held every autumn and if there is a vacancy among the Trustees they could have the opportunity to become a Trustee. Click the button below to download a membership application form.

Download a membership form

The Trust is governed by a Council of not less than 12 and not more than 22 Trustees. Generally speaking, half of the Trustees will be comprised of ordinary members elected at an AGM. If someone wishes to be considered for election, they should contact the Trust Administrator who will give them the relevant form to complete. The applicant will be asked to include reasons why they feel they could be helpful to the Trust. Trustee terms last for three years, with a potential further three years, if re-elected. Trustees who have already served for six years may only stand for election again once a full year has passed.

Aside from Ordinary Trustees, other Council members may include those who have been nominated by organisations such as:

  • The Royal Institute of British Architects
  • Westminster City & Camden councils
  • Covent Garden Community Association
  • Royal Town Planning Institute
  • Royal Opera House

The Trust has a duty to maintain a balanced membership split between those living within, or outside of, the Covent Garden area.


From time to time the Trust will decide to confer the title of ‘Honorary Life Member‘ on individuals who have served the organisation well. Currently there are six such members:

  • Robert Harris (a founder member) 
  • David Bieda (a founder member and long-time Trustee)
  • Geoffrey Holland (Trust Chairman, 1992-2006)
  • Raymond Cooper (the Trust’s long time lawyer at Farrer & Co and later Chairman from 2006-2011)
  • Leana Pooley (Trust Administrator, 1992-2006) 
  • Roger Keyworth (long-time supporter)

Latest News

Stay up to date with all the latest news and information from The Covent Garden Area Trust

2018 AGM Update

The Trust’s 30th AGM took place on 27th November at 6pm at the 7 Dials Club. New trustees Paul Fisher and Terry St.Clair were elected, together with Paul Velluet who has returned as trustee. Ben O…
Read More

Town Crier News

Some of you may have seen recent articles in the daily papers that our Rent Ceremony town crier, Alan Myatt, was attacked by three youths who tried to steal his hat and wig when he was leaving an offi…
Read More

2018 AGM

The Trust’s 2018 AGM will be held at 6pm on Tuesday 27 November at the 7 Dials Club, 42 Earlham Street WC2H 9LA. All members are welcome and the Trustees are pleased to invite them to drinks and…
Read More